Home > Uncategorized > A note from sunny

A note from sunny

June 22, 2012

From those who love Bethany Hills I have heard over and over again about how “just pulling onto the Bethany Hills Camp road is so peaceful”.  I must admit that because of my leadership position at camps this is not always my reaction as I am pulling in.  But it happened to me at Christmount this past weekend.  When I pulled in the early morning (I went a little late because of Vacation Bible School) for the Music Workshop, I felt it, I felt my body relax and the peace in my spirit.  It helps that Christmount is in the mountains- a stunning reminder of the majestic power of God.  It also helps that it was at least 10 degrees cooler while we were in Black Mountain, NC than here Livingston. 

This past weekend I got to be a participant and not a leader- it was refreshing.  I got to know other Disciples of Christ folks who love to sing and I got to know some of my Livingston folks a little better (Thanks Ricky, Shirley, Trish and Beverly).  We had a great time.  We sang for the glory of God and we learned a lot.

This weekend was a reminder to me that every once in a while it is good to get away, to go on retreat and to do something you love (even if you’re not that good at it).  Christmount is an incredible spot to retreat anytime. I encourage you to visit if you have never been there.   Christmount is a ministry for all of us- it is a general ministry of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). I encourage you to visit their website to learn more: http://www.christmount.org/

Summer can be a season of rest and renewal- I encourage you to find that for yourself!

Many Blessings,

Sunny